Universidad de Antioquia

Founded in 1803, Universidad de Antioquia is currently home to more than 41,000 students, being the country’s second largest university.

Its main campus is located in the capital city of Medellin.

Its presence in nine subregions (with eleven campuses) spread throughout the Department of Antioquia gives access to a large territorial diversity. Thanks to this, the University has achieved a remarkable production of knowledge, allowing research advances on tropical diseases, natural resources, biodiversity, socio-political processes, territory social construction and integration of social minorities.

The University is primarily a research-based university, with one third of its research groups classified at the national level as excellence groups. It has 272 groups that involve 5,000 faculty and students, working on 1,200 collaborative projects. It also has 32 patents granted and remains the first university and second entity with the largest number of patents in Colombia.

Its ranked 17th in the QS University Rankings: Latin America 2018 and has more than 300 current international agreements with higher education institutions in 30 countries.

Áreas de Experiencia